89th Annual Third District Meeting 2022

Alexandria, VA – The Brothers of the Psi Nu Chapter, Third District, of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. hosted the 89th Annual Third District Meeting on March 31 – April 3, 2022. The decision to conduct the meeting in person was to allow the Brothers to fellowship as it has been some time since the onset of COVID.

Brother Conrado B. Morgan – Third District Representative, was enthused about the Brothers being able to gather in person for this year’s Third District meeting. This year’s District Marshal was Brother James A. “Mitch” Mitchell, Psi Nu Chapter. The Deputy District Marshals were Brothers Walter Clarke, Markus Gaines, John Gordon, Donte Jiggetts, Turner Mebane, Christopher Powell, Melvin Fowler, James Goodman, Roger Hicks, TraVaughn Lincoln, James Pierce, Owen Wilson, Shawn Brown, and Anthony Foxworth. The Brothers of Psi Nu Chapter hosted an excellent District Meeting. There were over 450 Brothers registered for the meeting. A few of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Grand Officers (current and former) were in attendance. Brother Dr. David Marion, 41st Grand Basileus, attended the district meeting. The 89th Annual Third District meeting was an overwhelming success, and the business of Omega was conducted with excellence.

On Thursday, the District meeting weekend kicked off with fun-filled Tee-up activities with a sold-out Third District Charity Golf event at the Old Hickory Golf Club in Woodbridge, Virginia. The weather was nice most of the day, allowing the teams to demonstrate their golfing skills. Teams competed with great enthusiasm while enjoying the fellowship with the Brothers, friends, sponsors, and guests. There was $15,000 in sponsorship received from a Senator and 11 State Delegates. Brother State Delegate Luke E. Torian led the effort on the golf tournament and getting sponsorship. The winners of the Golf Tournament were Brother Luke Torian’s Team (Luke Torian, Dan Torian, Joe Torian, and Kevin White)

On Friday, the business of Omega was conducted. The Grand Basileus reported on the state of the fraternity. Brother Conrado B. Morgan – Third District Representative, Executive Council, Area Supervisors, and Committee Chairman, who all provided their reports. Additionally, the election of District officers was conducted. Grand Basileus Dr. David Marion presented $35,000 by donating $5,000 to Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) in the Third District. The funds will be placed into each chapter’s (Howard University, University of the District of Columbia, Hampton University, Virginia State University, Norfolk State, Virginia Union University, and the Virginia University of Lynchburg) endowment fund. After the business of Omega was complete, the day concluded with a spectacular Step Show consisting of four teams competing for the grand prize and bragging rights. Nu Psi Chapter won the Step Show. The step show was followed by an evening of fellowship allowing the Brothers to bond and build friendships.

The Talent Hunt was conducted on Saturday, April 2, 2022. The Talent Hunt was a phenomenal event executed to perfection by Brother Owen Nixon. The event consisted of 14 fabulously talented youth, all competing for the opportunity to showcase their talent in the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity’s international competition. All participants received a certificate of participation. A total of $2,950 was awarded. Fourth place and below received $100 each. The top three winners were:

• First Place – Blake Armstrong ($1,000) – Violinist – Lambda Omega
• Second Place – Emily Yeh ($500) – Pianist – Pi Lambda Lambda
• Third Place – Ted J.C. Thomas ($350) – Zeta Iota

The new Third District leadership of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. is on the move in 2022. The changeover in leadership and elected District Council members as of April 2, 2022, are as follows:

• District Representative: Brother Conrado B. Morgan
• First Vice District Representative: Brother Shawn R. Lacey
• Second Vice District Representative: Brother Deondre Davis
• District Keeper of Records and Seal: Brother Craig M. Spraggins
• District Keeper of Finance: Brother O. Jay Allen
• District Chaplain: Brother Rev. Courtenay L. Miller
• District Director of Public Relations: Brother Calvin C. Beidleman, III
• District Counselor: Brother J. Kevin McIntyre, ESQ
• Immediate Past District Representative: Brother Kevin Brown
• 2023 District Marshal – Brother Craig Branch

Additionally, the District conducted its Founders Banquet. The awards ceremony results are as follows:

Fatherhood Initiatives and Mentoring Awards: (Get from Mike Frazier)

• Youth Academy Program – Large Chapter: Psi Alpha Alpha
• Youth Academy Program – Small Chapter: Kappa Iota Iota
• Fatherhood Initiative of the Year – Large Chapter: Psi Alpha Alpha
• Fatherhood Initiative of the Year – Small Chapter: Zeta Mu Mu
• Father of the Year: Gamma Xi – Brother Harvis Yarborough

Social Action Award:
• Social Action Large Chapter of the Year: Pi Lambda Lambda Chapter

Achievement Week Awards for chapters and individuals:
• Large Chapter of the Year: Psi Alpha Alpha Chapter
• Small Chapter of the Year: Sigma Kappa Kappa Chapter
• Undergraduate Chapter of the Year: Nu Psi Chapter
• Omega Man of the Year Graduate Chapter: Brother Rossie Johnson – Delta Omega Chapter
• Undergraduate Omega Man of the Year: Brother Daniel Dunn – Nu Psi Chapter
• Founders Lifetime Achievement Award: Brother Alcindor Rosier – Psi Alpha Alpha Chapter
• Superior Service Award winner: Brother Michael Frazier – Psi Alpha Alpha Chapter
• Undergraduate Superior Service Award: Brother Deondre Davis -Nu Psi Chapter
• Colonel Charles Young Military Leadership Award: Brother Jacques Nixon – Pi Lambda Lambda Chapter
• Basileus of the Year: Brother Robert Myles, Jr. – Sigma Mu Mu Chapter
• Undergraduate Basileus of the Year: Brother Daniel Dunn – Nu Psi Chapter
• Citizen of the Year: Brother James Thompson – Kappa Psi Chapter
• High School Essay Contest Winner: Janae B. Thompson – Delta Omega Chapter
Scholarship winners – $10,000 awarded
• Third District Scholar of the Year: Brother Temiloluwa Adanlawo – Howard University
• Founder’s Memorial Scholarship: Brother Colin Dickens – Howard University
• Grand Basileus Award: Brother Daniel Dunn – Virginia State University
• Dennis R. Gates II, Student-Athlete Award: Brother Nicholas Edwards – Hampton University
• George E. Meares: Brother Ronald Dingle – Virginia Union University
• Dr. W. Montague Cobb Medical Scholar Award: Brother Stafford Brown III – EVMS/W & M
• Graduate Scholarship Grant: Brother Zuogwi Reeves – Howard University
• Dr. Benjamin Mays Divinity Scholarship: Brother Jameson McLaughlin – Regent University

On Sunday, the 89th District Meeting concluded with the Ecumenical Service. Brother Bishop Enoch Perry, III, Esq, brought the gospel message. Song selections were provided by Third District’s own Omega Chorale, who sang with tremendous enthusiasm and spirit. The attendees were highly engaged and blessed by the song selection and the word brought forth by the man of God.
The new administration is thankful for the unwavering and continuous support of the 2320 Brothers and 43 outstanding chapters throughout Washington, D.C. and Virginia. A special thank you to the Former District Representatives, Area Supervisors, Committee Chairmen, and Basilei for their leadership.