Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Colonel Charles Young Leadership Award Winners and Story written by Brother (Colonel, USA, Retired) Conrado B. Morgan, PG 82, Life Member 1980

Colonel Charles Young (March 12, 1864 - January 8, 1922) was the third  African American graduate of  West Point, the first black U.S. National Park Superintendent, first black military attaché, first black to achieve the rank of  colonel, and highest-ranking black officer in the  United States Army until his death in 1922. Charles Young was born in 1864 into  slavery to Gabriel Young and Arminta Bruen in May's Lick,  Kentucky, a small village near  Maysville, but he grew up a free person. His father Gabriel escaped from slavery in 1865, going across the  Ohio River to  Ripley, Ohio to enlist as a private in the Fifth Regiment of the Colored Artillery (Heavy) Volunteers during the  American Civil War. Accounts differ as to whether he took his wife and child with him then. His service earned him and his wife freedom. As a young woman Arminta had learned to read and write, and may have had status as a house slave before becoming free.  Please visit for additional information.


Award Approval Process:

The Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Colonel Young Leadership Award was conceived of in Delta Omega Chapter (Petersburg, Virginia), Third District, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. by Brother (Major) Conrado B. Morgan. It was voted on and approved by Delta Omega Chapter in 2000 and presented to the Third District for approval. It was approved by the Third District in 2000. Brother (Major) Conrado B. Morgan was transferred back to Fort Bragg, North Carolina in 2003 and he presented the idea to Tau Gamma Gamma Chapter (Fort Bragg, North Carolina). Tau Gamma Gamma Chapter voted on and approved the award in 2003. Brother (Lieutenant Colonel) Morgan thru Tau Gamma Gamma Chapter sent the award for approval to the Sixth District in 2003. It was approved by the Sixth District in 2003. The Sixth District requested that the award be voted on and approved at the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. international level in 2004. The Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Colonel Young Leadership Award was first presented at the 74th Grand Conclave in Saint Louis, Missouri in 2004. Brother Carl Blunt, First Vice Grand Basileus, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. was a strong supporter of this award.

Criteria for Award:

Colonel Charles Young Military Leadership Award    Colonel (Brother) Charles Young was elected the second honorary member of the Fraternity on March 8, 1912.  Colonel Young, the ranking African-American officer in the military at the time of his death, died in Africa on January 8, 1922.  To commemorate the great works of this Omega Man, the Omega Memorial Day and the ritual were both revised by the 1922 Grand Conclave held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.  Colonel Young was highly respected by the brothers and today is still regarded as a great military leader and a role model for all Omega Men.

The International Achievement Week Committee evaluates nominations from the Districts based on the following criteria:

  1. Nominee must be financial on the Chapter, District and National Levels
  1. The nominee must be considered “on active duty” with any branch of the US armed forces during the period in which he is nominated.
  1. The nominee’s rank is not a consideration for this award (can be enlisted or a commissioned officer)
  1. Nominee must have made outstanding contributions to the fraternity at chapter, district, international level (chapters/district are expected to support all nationally and district mandated programs) and the military.
  1. Nominees must have served in a manner above and beyond the ordinary participation levels necessary to implement programs and projects.  Nominees should be involved with the organization, planning and implementation of programs and projects.
  1. Documentation associated with this award must demonstrate the nominee’s activities and be certified by the Basileus and Keeper of Records and Seal on the Chapter level and by the Achievement Week Chairman on the District Level.


Winners of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Colonel Charles Young Leadership Award are:

Brother Angelo Riddick; Lambda Gamma Gamma Chapter, 2nd District --- Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2003 - Oct 31, 2004

Brother Linton J. Marks; Kappa Iota Iota Chapter, 3rd District ---Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2004 - Oct 31, 2005

Brother Conrado B. Morgan; Tau Gamma Gamma Chapter, 6th District--- Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2005 - Oct 31,  2006

Brother Michael Williams; Xi Pi Chapter, 8th District --- Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2006 - Oct 31,  2007

Brother Johari J. Hemphill; Gamma Upsilon Chapter; 8th District--- Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2007 - Oct 31,  2008

Brother Shelvy L. Convert; Xi Pi Chapter; 8th District--- Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2008 - Oct 31,  2009

Brother Demetrius Brooks; Tau Tau Chapter; 12th District--- Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2009 - Oct 31,  2010

Brother Dominque A. Jackson; Lambda Alpha Chapter; 9th District--- Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2010 - Oct 31,  2011

Brother Mike Boykins; Iota Iota Chapter; 6th District--- Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2011 - Oct 31,  2012

Brother Mike Boykins; Iota Iota Chapter; 6th District--- Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2011 - Oct 31,  2013

Brother Voris McBurnette : Iota Iota Chapter; 6th District--Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2013 - Oct 31, 2014

Brother Derrick F. Varner, Psi Alpha Chapter, 9th District--Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2014 - Oct 31, 2015

Bro. Paul A. Prosper, Xi Pi Chapter, 8th District--Fraternal Year Nov 1, 2016 - Oct 31, 2016


Brother Conrado B. Morgan, 5 PG 82

Vice Chairman, International History and Archives

LM 1980, OPPFI

910-824-1911 c

Colonel Charles Young Award Winners and Story — updated as 15 DEC 2017

You May Also Like